My Dad’s Favorite Christmas Cookies aka Peanut Blossoms

Most Christmas Seasons involve me reserving one Saturday, at minimum, to baking a schmorgusboard of Christmas Cookies.  For 2009 though, since my entire family is trying to lose weight, we restrained ourselves and I only made one type of cookie.  And the only reason I made this cookie was because I was paid to do so.  My mom’s best friend texted me one day because her husband had signed up to participate in a cookie exchange at work and she had no time whatsoever to make cookies.  So she asked me instead and bribed me with money.  I made Peanut Blossoms which are wonderful cookie, that could be made anytime of year.  What makes them “holiday” cookies is that they are rolled in red and green colored sugar to celebrate Christmas.  This is a great cookie.  It’s a peanut butter cookie, rolled in sugar with a Hershey Kiss stuck on top.  What is there not to love?  (Unless you are allergic to peanuts, chocolate, wheat or lactose intolerant, in which cases I could see why this cookie would not sit so well with you.)  I made a double recipe and present Laurie with the 4.5 dozen she require, sold some in a bake sale to raise money for a mission trip and reserved the rest the family.  My dad was very appreciative.

Peanut Blossoms

1/2 C Shortening

1/2 C Peanut Butter (if you use the kind without transfat you’ll want to let the dough refrigerate for 30-60 minutes before rolling into balls)

1/2 C Brown Sugar

3/4 C sugar

1 egg

2 Tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla

1 3/4 C flour

1 tsp baking soda

Hershey Kisses

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In large mixer bowl beat shortening, peanut butter, brown sugar and 1/2 C sugar until light and fluffy.  Add egg,milk, vanilla and mix well.  Combine flour and soda and add to creamed mixture.  Using teaspoon, shape into 1″ balls.  Roll in remaining 1/4 C sugar (use colored sugar for holidays).  Bake on ungreased cookie sheet about 8 minutes.  Remove from oven and press a kiss into center of each cookie, until cookie starts to crack.  Return to oven and bake 2 to 3 minutes more.

And I promise that is the last Christmas post!!!

One thought on “My Dad’s Favorite Christmas Cookies aka Peanut Blossoms

Leave a Reply

