Did you know…?

Did you know your lower back supports 70% of your body weight?  Did you know your knee is the most complicated joint in your body?  Did you know the human body is not really meant to bend at the waist?  Did you know that basically every American can expect to experience lower back pain at some point in his or her life?  In my new job we learn as much as we possibly can about what can go wrong with the human and let me tell you there is a lot that can go wrong.  The first body system we learned about was the musculoskeletal system.  First of all, God is one incredible architect and it is really too bad we do so much to screw it up.  Interesting fact, we human beings are not really meant to bend at the waist.  Bending forward puts undue pressure on the discs in our lumbar spine causing damage which over time can lead to painful injuries that could possibly lead to surgery.  Yeah, it’s not a pretty picture.  Another interesting fact to go along with this, children, especially children under the age of 10 don’t naturally bend at the waist to pick up something on the ground.  They bend their knees and squat.  This is better for your back because it actually keeps your lumbar region straight, the way it was meant to be.

Now I will be the first one to admit I have not been a friend to my back.  In fact, over the years I have been more of an enemy and have suffered because of it.  As someone who has endured physical therapy twice to fix back and neck issues I very, very strongly urge you to do what you can to protect your back.  Be kind to your spine.  This includes standing and sitting up straight with your shoulders back and down (probably my biggest sin), squatting to pick up items and using your legs instead of your back to lift items and all those other tidbits you’ve heard over the years.  Over the weekend I did my best to make a conscious choice to bend my legs to reach for items below waist level and it takes a lot of reconditioning.  I also woke up today with rather sore legs and butt (I hope that means the shape of them will improve due to these efforts as well!).  I know this is a bit of random post, but if we don’t take care of what we are given we could lose it and I think that is a bigger tragedy.  So do your back and yourself a favor and be kind!

Leave a Reply

