Butternut Squash-Apple Soup

I am not a squash person, but when Farmhouse Delivery brought me butternut squash a few months ago I new I had to do something with it.  Enter winter, aka soup season.  This is another recipe from my slow-cooker recipe book.  This is a really good soup, which I have really enjoyed.  It’s pureed, so I don’t have to worry about any texture issues, which is really nice for my issues!  Here’s the recipe:

3 packages (12 ounces each) frozen cooked winter squash, thawed and drained or about 4 1/2 cups mashed cooked butternut squash

2 cans (15 ounces each) chicken broth (3 to 4 cups)

1 medium Golden Delicious apple, peeled, cored and chopped

2 tablespoons minced onion

1 tablespoon packed light brown sugar

1 teaspoon minced fresh sage or 1/2 teaspoon ground sage

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 cup heavy cream or half-and-half

1. Combine all ingredients except cream in slowcooker.  Cover; cook on HIGH about 3 hours or on LOW about 6 hours.

2. Puree soup in blender, food processor or with electric mixer.  Stir in cream just before serving.

This soup made plenty to last me several weeks and froze really well in the freezer.  I highly recommend it.

One thought on “Butternut Squash-Apple Soup

Leave a Reply

