My Summer…

This summer has been…interesting.  I’ve done a fair amount of dog sitting this summer for these guys:

This is Chops.

This is Diggity.

Chops is the most stubborn dog I have ever met in my life.  She’s also remarkably agile when she wants to be.  You have to be careful about leaving food on the kitchen counters, because despite her deceptively short legs, she is able to jump up and get pretty much anything off the counter she wants.  She also manages to do an incredible Darth Vader impression.  Every time I take a nap, Chops decides this is the time she needs attention.  So in order to get it, she will stick her nose under the door and breathe Darth Vader style until I come out.  Annoying, but effective.  Diggity on the other hand, is a very sweet dog with a bad reputation.  Poor dog freaks out anytime he leaves his house so whenever you take him for a walk you have to put a shock collar on him in order to stop him from attacking anything that moves.

I also helped my friend Erica do flowers for a wedding.  It was actually the wedding of a UT football player.  Erica put together all the flower arrangements at her house, but we had to decorate the church some too.  Now my own creative juices tend ebb and flow, so anytime I called on to do forced creativity, there are always a few nerves to go with it.  We had to put together decorations for the pews and I did a pretty good job putting together the little miniature bouquets to decorate the pews.

I only had my point and shoot with me so the picture is blown out.  Those little purple flowers are called pixie carnations.  Aren’t they cute?  In the words of Erica, who knew a carnation could be so pretty?

I’ve also done a little cooking.  My friend Ellie made this wonderful dish a long time ago for bookclub and I resurrected it for the fourth of July.  It was a big hit.

Peaches just go so well with summer.

Probably the least favorite thing that happened to me this summer was this:

Yes, that is my car and yes it was destroyed in a car accident.  Totaled is the word.  If you’ve been reading my blog long enough, you’ll know I was in a car accident about a year and a half ago.  I wasn’t exactly planning on buying a new car anytime soon.  But life does not always go according to plan.  We move on.  I got a new car, though, well new to me at least.  It’s a 2001 Toyota Corolla, which is actually what my first car was, and I loved it.  Corollas are such great cars, I love them.  The nice thing was that I bought it from a girl at work, for quite cheap and no dealer negotiations.

Otherwise, this summer I have been doing a Beth Moore study with girls from church, I went on a semi-successful float the river trip, and I actually managed to go to bed on a Friday at 7:30 pm.  IT WAS GLORIOUS!!!!!

I also spent four days baby sitting this little munchkin.  You read that right, four days.  Her parents went to New York for a long weekend, so I took care of her.  I love this little girl, but let me tell you, after four days I was happy to hand her back over to her parents and sleep in my own bed.  To all single mothers out there, God Bless You!  I got to church on Sunday and was getting the little one out of the car when I realized I had put my shirt on backward.  Yep, I am 28 years old and I showed at church looking like I am four.

Well, that’s my update.  Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve written.  Hopefully, my life will calm down long enough to get organized and do this more often.  We’ll see anyway.

Leave a Reply

