Western Michigan: Day 4

I’m not really sure Western Michigan is the right title for this entry since I drove to Mount Pleasant, MI to visit my high school friend Jeff and his wife Susan.  Mount Pleasant is the home to Central Michigan University, not exactly Western Michigan, but I’m going for a series here and it’s my blog, so I get to pick the title.  It was a gorgeous day, perfect for a drive through Michigan’s rolling hills.  It took a couple of hours to get there and I drove through beautiful farm country, one of my favorite things to view and photograph.  Once I got to Jeff and Susan’s, after a lunch at a Mexican food restaurant, we drove over to Midland, Jeff’s hometown, to go to Dow Gardens.  Dow is a huge employer, or the employer in Midland and the Dow family who started the company had a lot of farmland that was eventually transformed into public gardens.  It was beautiful.  I had a great time visiting and we got in free because it was “Be a tourist in your own town” day.  Can’t beat that!

On the drive to Mount Pleasant.

I really do miss fall colors.

The light was just gorgeous.

 

 

Jeff, Susan and I.

 

Jeff and Susan being silly.

 

Still being silly.

 

There was a greenhouse with orchids.

 

One thought on “Western Michigan: Day 4

Leave a Reply

