I learned how to quilt!

So a few months ago I think I told you guys I was going to talk a quilting class through Sew Much More, a local sewing store here in Austin.  Well, I did and now, I’m addicted.  Quilting is wonderful!  And the rate at which my friends seem to be reproducing I won’t have a reason to stop for a while.  I’ve actually wanted to learn how to quilt for a long time now.  Since I was a kid.  In fact, one day, when I was a kid, I got it into my head to make a patch work quilt.  I gathered scraps of fabric left over from other sewing projects and cut them up and started sewing the together.  Of course, I had no idea what I was doing and pretty much gave up right away.  (It’s probably a good thing too since I didn’t cut any of the patches to the correct dimensions and they were all crooked!)

I have admired several of my sewing friends who quilt for a while now and I wanted to learn and even a bought a Quilting for Dummies book several years ago, but never really cracked it open.  When the opportunity for this class came up I decided to go for it.  And I am so glad I did.  It was so much fun to take the class and I made a whole quilt in the class.  I’ve made a total of four now, all baby quilts. (Like I said, I know a lot of people having babies!)  Sadly, I forgot to take a picture of my first quilt before I gave it away as a gift.  (I know, you’re thinking, “What kind of photographer is she if she forgets to take a picture?”  The answer: a forgetful one.)  Thankfully, I have managed to photograph the others before giving them away.  What is not so fortunate, is that I am sadly lacking in practice when it comes to photographing quilts so the pictures aren’t very good.  I’m going to have to work on that.

Quilt #2:  This quilt was a gift for my cousin Christie’s baby, Paige.  I used the Central Park by Kate Spain from Moda.  I used Knickerbocker Glory pattern from the book Jelly Roll Inspirations.  The quilt was originally suppose to be 62 in x 54 in, so I reduced it down to a more appropriate size for baby quilt.  I’ve been doing straight stitching with the walking foot to do the actual quilting part.  I was told free motion quilting takes  a lot practice, so I decided to try to master the walking foot before moving on to free motion.

Quilt #3:

This quilt was made for baby Brayden who was born to my cousin Todd.  Todd and his wife Julie decided to wait until the baby arrived to find out if it was a boy or girl.  So as soon and I knew it was a boy, I got to work.  I started going through my fabric and had a mini panic attack because I don’t really have “boy” fabric.  When I go to the store to by fabric I pick out stuff I like and I’m a girl, so I pick out girl fabric.  Thankfully, after digging I found a quilting pack of fat quarters I had bought at Joann’s on sale a few years ago.  The fabric was rather “African safari” themed, but after removing the animal print, I managed to put together a good collection of what I consider to be a rather “boy” looking quilt.  I chose to do a pinwheel pattern because I knew it would be easy to just sew up some half square triangles and put them together as a pinwheel.  The quilt even wound up going really well with the nursery colors which were green and brown.

 Quilt #3:

The third quilt is for a co-worker who is expecting a girl next month.  My friend Beth made this quilt which is a free pattern from Oh, Fransson, a great quilting blog.  I thought it was so cute, I would use the pattern for my next quilt. It’s called Charm Square Baby quilt. It was super easy to make.  You just need a charm square pack.  I used my other charm square pack of Central Market by Kate Spain from Moda.  I’m still working on getting my seams lined up really well.  I wound up having to chop off a little from the end of a row because it didn’t match up.  I had a hard time finding fabric for the backing of this quilt.  I wanted something special and little different because the mother-to-be is super artsy herself and is an artist.  (She literally has a PhD in art.)  She makes her own belt buckles and was part of a gallery display in City Hall for the City of Austin last year.  So, after trying both my own stash and Hancock Fabrics and Joanns, I decided it was time to suck it up and go to quilting store.  I went into Honeybee quilts and oh, my, what a wonderful fabric selection.  I went a little crazy, but I found GREAT fabrics.  Including the one you see below for the backing.

My hope is to make a bigger quilt for myself to use for things like movies at Central Market and Blues on the Green.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to find the time between all the baby quilts.  We’ll see!

2 thoughts on “I learned how to quilt!

  1. They all look great! I love the diamond quilting. Funny enough, I never bought a walking foot so I only free motion quilt. It’s really not too hard. 🙂

Leave a Reply

