Quilt for Baby Bobby

As I have mentioned before, my friends have a penchant for having babies.  My friend Joy from college had a baby boy the weekend before Thanksgiving, so for her baby shower a few months ago I made her the quilt you see above.  Joy found out ahead of time she was having a boy, so I knew going in I needed “boy fabric”.  Thankfully, a few months ago when I went with my parents to Iowa we stopped at an adorable quilt shop.  In addition to some really cute fabric I found, they had a “collection” of boy fabric in a “quilt kit”.  So I grabbed one, because as I mentioned before, I don’t tend to buy a lot of “boy fabric”.

So, back in August some of my friends and I went to the Wimberly Quilt Ranch.  We spent a whole weekend quilting and crafting and I made this quilt for Joy and Baby Bobby.  I started off by making four shoo fly patches in the middle and then a row four inch squares and then a border of flying geese.  I forgot to write down what the fabric was from the store (I need to get better about that), but it’s really cute.  It has little trucks and trees.  I realized after I made the top that the fabric for the back was too small so I had to add more squares to make it big enough.  I think it turned out alright.  This was also the first time I used quilt binding, which I made myself.  (Thanks Jenn for the advice!)

I think it turned out pretty well.

Leave a Reply

