New Years’ Resolutions

Happy New Year everyone!

Well, every year I make resolutions and usually it is the same thing every year, lose weight.  And then of course, I fail a few weeks in like most other people.  Well, this year I have decided that in order to help keep myself accountable to myself, I would publish it on my blog to let everyone else know what I am up to.  So, here follows my resolutions/goals for the year 2012.

In the year 2012 I intend to:

Get to my goal weight.  I have had the basic desire to lose weight, since well, puberty basically.  It’s a struggle, a constant struggle.  I have lost weight in the past and also gained weight in the past.  In fact, about six years ago I was about 30-40 lbs heavier than I am now.  But I could currently stand to lose somewhere in the neighborhood of another 40 lbs.  I have a goal weight in mind, it’s in my BMI range, but since I’ve never really been in my BMI range I don’t really know what weight my particular body should be at.  Apparently the goal should a BMI of 22, because those people are the healthiest.  We’ll see what happens.  In order to accomplish this goal I intend to keep track of my daily calorie consumption.  The invention of the smart phone has greatly helped in this arena and there is an app I use currently and have used with great success in the past to help count calories.  It’s called My Fitness Pal and it’s free!  When I am honest and keep track of my calories I have a better idea of how much I am eating and where I need to scale back.  It also helps me see the times of day and days of the week when I am vulnerable, so that way I can have a back up plan for those times.  For example, it’s common for me to come home on Thursday and be ravenous because I’ve been “good” the rest of the week.  So therefore, instead of eating an entire box of a cereal in front of the TV (which I have done before, Golden Grahams taste way too good), I can plan ahead and have a frozen meal ready or prepare something ahead of time.  I also intend to get back into an exercise plan.  I use to be extremely faithful about getting up in the morning and walking, but something happened and I don’t know why, but I stopped.  So I need to rejoin that band wagon.  I also want to start incorporating strength exercises in my workout plans.  Building muscle means more fat burning power, so it’s in my best interest to put the effort in.  I spent a month taking boxing classes back in September through a groupon and I loved them.  I would really love to join the gym permanently but I need to wait for a change in financial situation before that can happen.  While I was there though I learned a great ab workout.  It’s going to be part of my new strength training plan along with whatever else I can find through my subscription to Self magazine.

Finish reading all six Jane Austen novels.  I’m a total girly girl, so it’s not really much of a surprise I love Jane Austen.  Amazingly, I haven’t read most of her novels.  Seen the movies, but I haven’t read the novels.  I’ve read Pride and Prejudice three times and I finished Sense and Sensibility last month.  I actually own copies of all six novels, so I’ve decided it’s time to make the effort and read them.  Two down, four to go.

Complete a Photography Project 365 where I take a picture every single day for a year.  This is actually something I have thought about doing for a long time.  If you followed my old blog you may remember that back in 2009 I took a week-long photography workshop in the Texas Hill Country.  It was one of the most amazing weeks of my life.  My instructor talked about how he had engaged in a Project 365 where he started taking a picture everyday.  This man is a fantastic photographer who has been a photographer for over 30 years.  He studied under Ansel Adams, but he talked about how much he had improved as a photographer when he started taking pictures everyday.  He encouraged all of us to do same because we would see an amazing improvement in our own skills and abilities.  Well, I’ve always been afraid of committing to a project like this because of the time commitment and fear that I would not be able to find enough “stuff” in my life worthy of being photographed.  Well, this year I decided to either dig up the courage and commitment or continue to sink into the failure of losing my talent because I wasn’t using it.  So, I chose the former.  So here goes nothing.

Adhere as best as possible to my budget.  As I mentioned above I have budget constraints, but it’s still a working budget and I need to be a good steward of God’s gift and use my money well.  Even when it means going without things I want right now.  It’s about learning to wait for the things that are really worth the effort and enjoying what I already have.

Participate in at least two 5Ks.  This might be my craziest resolution.  I have exercise induced asthma.  I don’t run.  It’s not because I’m lazy, it’s because about 50 ft into running I lose the ability to breathe.  My cardio is usually walking or swimming.  Both of which I can go at my own pace.  But after watching my friends complete the Hell Run back in November, I decided it was time to try to challenge myself physically.  My first 5K is the Color Run, which is a  5K where you wear white and they throw paintballs at you.  The reason this is my first race is because it was Eva’s suggestion, my other friends are doing it, it sounded fun and the proceeds go to charity.  We’ll see how it goes, but I am very excited.

Officially join a church.  Earlier in the year I left my previous church after being there for six years.  I was actually one of the founding members of the church and helped plant it, but at the beginning of 2011 I really felt God was calling me to move on and find a new home church.  Since the summer I have been searching for a new church.  I haven’t made a commitment anywhere, and I have tried out several churches, but I want to get involved and be a part of church again.  I’m ready to find my place in a new a church and see what God teaches me.

One thought on “New Years’ Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Project 365: 9/365 « Picky Everything

Leave a Reply

